A Photographic Journey

Welcome to HK Camera Life.

A passion for photography have lead me down the strange path over the years, an unpredictable path that have meandered from being a snapshooter with my very basic Kodak P&S in the eighties, to my very first serious foray into my camera life with the purchase of my first DSLR in 2002 with my Nikon D100 and then an organic and hyperbolic growth in camera equipment from there, with forays in the past decade into all types of cameras, such as the Canon EOS system, Hasselblad Xpan, Leica and its wonderful lenses, Rollei 6008 system, Ebony 4×5 and the large format world, the dimunitive Olympus Pen FT and is modern M4/3 counterpart the E-P1 and many more.  This expedition into the camera world has not been aimless, I have not lost sight that the camera is just a tool to self-expression and it is with this compass direction that I explore the camera world.  I seek cameras that gives me a new way to express my visual world on the screen and paper, so my collection of cameras have few duplicates in function and form.  I choose cameras that allows me to photograph differently, will it be a different format, lens availability, specialized functions, a different viewfinder and a myriad of other functions that make each camera unique.

My camera life doesn’t start nor end with gear, far from it, it has been a tour d’force through all aspects of photography, such as camera and photography history and philosophy, the many books and references I’ve read, the high tech world of photo editing to the low tech world of film developing, the difficult process of getting the perfect print and the most important part…  the process of taking the photo itself.  The more I learn about photography, the more I realize that photography is much more than just taking a satisfying photo, at its simplest it is, but the scientist in me wants to learn more, to master what I learn.  And it is this trip to master photography that I have embarked upon, that is never ending, with an unknowable final destination that I will never reach but through this site I hope to share the journey with you.

I hope to share with you my camera life so far, the many experiences I have gained and to compile the research that I have done in this field and show you the remains of its digestion, and to show you the reader a single possible photographic path that you can take.   I want to show you all the detours I took in my photographic journey to reach where I am now.  The journey continues still and I hope to share my new discoveries in this, a camera life.

Eric Lai

4 responses

  1. Benny Ng

    Nice site Eric. Keep up the good work. It’s really enjoyable.

    July 1, 2010 at 7:21 am

  2. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site
    with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and brilliant design.

    July 25, 2012 at 4:36 pm

  3. It’s remarkable to pay a visit this web page and reading the views of all colleagues about this post, while I am also keen of getting familiarity.

    December 23, 2012 at 5:50 pm

  4. Lance Strohsahl

    Very informative and full of beautiful pictures. It is interesting to see your point of view of things from Hong Kong via China. Like buying lenses. Or Tibet being a part of China instead of an occupied nation awaiting release. Like Hong Kong, perhaps. Sorry to be political. You might need a wider angle lens in your personal perception of the world, perhaps.

    April 25, 2013 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.